William Mapother

Newsletter Sign-up

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Blog Archives

Blog Categories

William's Blog

William and others join the Screen Actors Guild "Solidarity Campaign"

Posted on: December 15th, 2008 by wmapother 1 Comment

Los Angeles, December 12, 2008 —

Screen Actors Guild today announced the names of 30 recognizable members who, along with Guild national president Alan Rosenberg, signed SAG’s “Statement of Support.” The first signers include Mel Gibson, Ed Harris, Holly Hunter, Martin Sheen, Sandra Oh, Hal Holbrook, Dixie Carter, John Heard, Jerry O’Connell, Rob Morrow and 20 others. Guild secretary treasurer Connie Stevens and 1st national vice president Anne-Marie Johnson also signed on to the statement as did board members Elliott Gould, Frances Fisher, Valerie Harper, Robert Hays, Justine Bateman, Clancy Brown, Charles Shaughnessy, Scott Bakula, Diane Ladd and others.

The SAG “Statement of Support” reads:

“I support the Screen Actors Guild National Board of Directors request for members to vote YES to empower the National Board to decide whether to call a TV/Theatrical contract strike, and if so, determine its timeframe. We must arm our negotiating committee with the collective unity and strength of the Screen Actors Guild members.”

Holbrook, Asner, Sheen, Ladd, Fisher, and Stevens have recorded video testimonials and topical messages that will debut on Screen Actors Guild’s website next week along with other celebrity testimonials.

The Guild’s website now features video messages from Bateman, Shaughnessy and Brown prominently displayed in a homepage video viewer.

Initial signers include:
Ed Asner
Scott Bakula
Justine Bateman
Clancy Brown
Dixie Carter
George Coe
Anne DeSalvo
Frances Fisher
Mel Gibson
Brian Goodman
Elliot Gould
Ed Harris
Valerie Harper
John Heard
Robert Hays
Hal Holbrook
Holly Hunter
Anne-Marie Johnson
Diane Ladd
William Mapother
Kent McCord
Rob Morrow
Jerry O’Connell
Sandra Oh
Alan Rosenberg
Alan Ruck
Charles Shaughnessy
Martin Sheen
Connie Stevens
Renee Taylor
Alicia Witt

All SAG members are invited to sign the “Statement of Support” by emailing their name and member number to the email address contract2008@sag.org. (SAG is in the final programming stages of an online sign up form which will be put on the home page of the website.) Video statements of support are playing now at http://www.sag.org/.

Posted in Acting Projects, Video (Online & Home)

One Response

  1. Roberta says:

    I’m rooting for the agreement and not by the strike hope that everything resolves itself in the best possible way…
    I travel today and return only 28 SO … Merry Christmas!!!
    To William and to all William’s fans

Leave a Reply